March 24, 2017


The Misamis Occidental I Electric Cooperative, Inc. (MOELCI – I), was organized and incorporated on August 18, 1972 with an area coverage of five municipalities, namely; Lopez Jaena, Plaridel, Calamba, Baliangao, and Sapang Dalaga, all in Misamis Occidental. Each district was represented by one incorporator to compose the interim Board of Directors who elected the officers among themselves, to wit: Board President, Engr. Jaime M. Ordiz (Calamba District); Vice-President, Mr. Cosme O. Aca-ac (Lopez Jaena District); Secretary, Mr. Claro Mirayo (Sapang Dalaga District); Treasurer, Mr. Dionisio H. Pepito, Sr. (Plaridel District); and Member, Mr. Roque L. Su (Baliangao District).

After some discussion during the Board meeting, the incorporators approved and adopted the coop By-Laws and the Articles of Incorporation on the date aforementioned. The organization of MOELCI-I, was made successful through the financial and institutional aid from the NEA and NRECA/USAID with the guidance of the Provincial Electric Cooperative Team (PECT); Messrs. Rufino G. Seril, Ceferino Bello and Hernani Apao.

A compact track of land of not less than five hectares was needed by the coop for its headquarter facilities. After a meticulous survey of possible sites within the area coverage, fate willed that a five hectare land at Magcamiguing, Calamba, Misamis Occidental would be secured by way of donation through the philanthropic gesture of Mr. & Mrs. Francisco A. Iman. The signing of the deed of donation in MOELCI-I took place on April 1, 1973.The Adrian Wilson International Associates, Inc. (AWIA), who negotiated to undertake the architectural and engineering services, started staking the area coverage of five municipalities sometime in May, 1973.

Due to the persistent request of the inhabitants of Oroquieta City and the municipality of Aloran, a resolution was passed by the NEA Board of Administrators dated January 10, 1974 approving the inclusion and incorporation of the two districts with MOELCI-I. These two districts were integrated in the architectural and engineering contract in November 1976.

Pending the completion of the construction/installation of the 69kv transmission lines for MOELCI-I, partial energization of the area coverage was auspiciously started on June 24, 1978. The first to see the “light” was Aloran, with power tapped from the MOELCI-II lines coming from its sub-station at Bañadero, Ozamis City. On August 1, 1978, Lopez Jaena was lighted; followed by Plaridel on the 16th; and Calamba on the 30th of the same month. As a birthday present to His Excellency President Ferdinand E. Marcos, Sapang Dalaga was energized on September 11, 1978, and on October 24, 1978, Baliangao was lighted. The red letter day for the cooperative came with the symbolic energization and inaugural ceremonies of the system on October 5, 1978.

Construction of the distribution and lateral lines went on in full swing with material support from NEA. There remained one problem, the extension of the lines to the remote town of Concepcion, the last section in the backbone system of the cooperative. Through to our commitment to General Pedro G. Dumol, NEA Administrator, this last town was at last energized on December 6, 1981. The backbone system was at last completed.